Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Patrol : Marine FAQs: Who may operate a motorboat in the State of Michigan?
 

Question

Who may operate a motorboat in the State of Michigan?

Answer

​To operate a motorboat in the State of Michigan a Boater’s Safety Certificate is required for anyone born on or after July 1, 1996.  Boater’s Safety Certificates are required for persons 12-15 years of age who wish to operate a motorboat in Michigan and they must be under the direct supervision of a person who is 16 years of age or older.

A Boater’s Safety Certificate is also required for persons between 14 & 15 years of age who wish to operate personal watercraft (PWC). He or she must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or designated person at least 21 years of age.  Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31, 1978 may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) only if they have obtained a valid Boater Safety Certificate. 

Anyone born on or before December 31, 1978 may operate a personal watercraft without restriction.

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-324-80141

SortOrder

1

Attachments

Created at 6/18/2015 1:59 PM by Webmaster
Last modified at 6/18/2015 2:04 PM by Webmaster