Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Road Patrol

The Road Patrol is the most familiar unit of the Sheriff's Office.  This unit is made up of one Captain, eight Sergeants, and 24 general road deputies (including 8 deputies serving in township contract positions.) 
Patrol deputies respond to approximately 20,000 calls for service each year, patrolling a county which is approximately 850 square miles in area with 2,055 road miles. The calls for service range from life-threatening emergencies to general assistance.  Patrol deputies also monitor traffic, frequently testify in court, and assist the community in many diverse ways.

The county is divided in to five separate patrol/community policing areas. This allows deputies to be assigned to the same area as much as possible, and allows them to get to know the citizens and neighborhoods better.