Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 
Drain Office
113 Chestnut Street
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: (269) 673-0440
Fax: (269) 673-0396
Email Us

HOURS: 8:00am - 4:30pm
Monday - Friday

Drain Office

 

Our Responsibilities

The Michigan Drain Code (Act 40 of Public Acts of 1956, as amended) is the law that governs the responsibilities of the Drain Commissioner. The Drain Commissioner, Denise Medemar, and staff are responsible for the operation and maintenance of over 825 established county drains and storm water management systems in Allegan County.

A county drain may be an open ditch, stream, underground pipe, retention pond or swale that conveys stormwater. These drains become designated as county drains through a petition process where either property owners or a local city, village or township petitions the Drain Commissioner to establish a county drain.

These systems are designed to provide storm water management, drainage, flood prevention and stream protection for agricultural and developed lands. Within county drainage districts, the Drain Commissioner is responsible for accounting of expenditures and financial statements, for maintaining records of the establishment and operation of each, and for conducting routine inspections and maintenance of the drains.

 

Payoff Requests

Payoff requests for Drain Special Assessments WILL NOT BE GIVEN VERBALLY. All requests must be in writing using the form listed in the Resources section below. Payoff responses will be given ONLY on the following days in the morning: MONDAY - WEDNESDAY - FRIDAY

 

 

 Resources

 
  
  
Notes
Development Standards.pdf
  
Request for Drain Assessment Payoff 2015.pdf
  
see "Payoff Requests" note above.
Mich Drain Code of 1956.pdf
  
Citizen's Flooding Prevention Tips.pdf
  
Published by the Michigan Association of County Drain Commissioners

 

 

 Staff Contacts

 
  
  
  
  
  
DeniseDrain Commissionerdmedemar@allegancounty.org
  
KrissChief Deputy Drain Commissionerkkraker@allegancounty.org
  
KarenDeputy Drain Commissionerkbrinks@allegancounty.org
  
GlennP.E., Civil Engineergpomp@allegancounty.org
  
PeterP.E., Civil Engineerpklooster@allegancounty.org
  
BrentMaintenance Supervisorbscholten@allegancounty.org
  
RonMaintenance Technicianrking@allegancounty.org